Home Results Home Page 2009 Road Results 2009 TT Results Other 2009 Results

Track Results - 2009

Brentwood Grass Track Meeting

The Brentwood Centre - 19th July 2009

The Easterley Road Club in association with the Brentwood Rotary Club presented their first grass track meeting, held on a 333m track at the Brentwood Centre under very windy conditions whihc threatened to blow the gazebo's away at times. But at least the wind kept the track fairly dry despite the occasional shower! Numbers were small but the racing was keen with the two Team Welwyn dominating affairs.

RiderClubCategory1 lap time trial800m handicap2 Lap ScratchDevil10 LapTotal
TimePosH'capHeat 1Heat 2Minor
FinalPointsHeat 1Heat 2Minor
Senior Omnium
8Tom Gosbee Team Welwyn Junior34.08215  2 44 1 112211101
1Phil Lisher Team Welwyn Senior33.5915   4 71  221122132
6Chris Burley Easterley RC Senior37.18570 2  332  335444193
2Pete Whelan Plomesgate CC Senior39.9061201  11 41 54355204
3Max Pendleton Mildenhall CC Senior37.00470   5 5 2 446533215
4Peter Lifford Becontree Wheelers Senior40.048120 1 22 33 78686296
7Paul Allet Easterley RC Senior34.41325   7 83 2 610797317
5Richard Jordan Easterley RC Senior39.917120  6 64 4 8118128378
Ladies Omnium
22Karen Lifford VC Nottingham Lady40.591120  6 2   1112110161
21Ann Shuttleworth Chelmer CCLady45.0521803 1 1   2213211292
Youth Omnium
31Alan Trolove West Suffolk WheelersU14 37.60270 33 2   11316171
32George Bateman Welwyn Whls U16 38.85390  5 3   337272132
33Edward Goater CC Ashwell U12 36.40160   61   2293133103

Mildenhall grass track meeting

Letchworth - 06/06/2009

The morning's rain had cleared but just softened the ground enough to give excellent riding conditions for the first of the Mildenhall grass track promotions - run by Max Pendleton, father of Olympic sprint champion Vicky. A good field had assembled to contest both the National Short Distance and Endurance league events.
The first event was the 800m scratch but Andy Ballentyne failed to make it through either the heat or repecharge. The final was won by youngster Bradley Burbridge who looks to be a hot prospect for future National honours.
This was followed by the 800m handicap and Andy, on 45m handicap, won his heat to make it through to the final. In the final, the field all came together on the first lap and then John McClelland lead out the last lap with Martin Smith on his wheel. Andy was coming back at Martin but had to settle for third.
The unknown distance event for non-qualifiers for the handicap was won by Bryan Taylor.
The final event was the 8km and after a couple slow laps the race blew apart. Andy was in a group of 4 chasing 3 leaders but couldn't stick with them and ended up in 7th or 8th place. The winner was again Bryan Taylor.

Write up, results and photos at Sarah Brooke Photography

Back to the Home Page Go to the top of the page